Bulldog: Which breeds are included?

The term "bulldog" includes several dog breeds recognized and unrecognized by the FCI. The most popular of them are probably the French Bulldog and the English Bulldog.

Bulldogs are subordinated to the Molossern - bulky, muscular and strong dog species. They are among the small to medium-sized members of this group and were originally bred to compete in bull fights. In old breeding lines their physical conditions allowed them to pack the much larger animals and to tear them to the ground.

Today, the nature and stature of the bulldog in breeding have changed a lot. Well-known and FCI-recognized representatives, such as the French Bulldog and the English Bulldog, have become popular, peaceful and devoted family dogs.

French Bulldog and English Bulldog

With her cute bat ears and the friendly, funny character, the French Bulldog is a particularly popular bulldog and is often thought of as a family and companion dog. The breed is fully grown between just eight and 14 kilograms and fans and owners love her for her playful, bright character. The English Bulldog is much heavier, has a friendly, easily educated and sometimes somewhat obstinate nature.

These bulldogs are not recognized by the FCI

Among the rare and unrecognized Bulldogs species include the following dogs: The American Alapaha Blue Blood Bulldog, the Germany-wide in many regions as a dog-run American Bulldog and the Australian Bulldog.

The Catahoula Bulldog is an American hybrid of the American Bulldog and the Louisiana Catahoula Leopard Dog and very rare. Other unknown breeds include Continental, Leavitt, Renascence and Victorian Bulldogs. Not to be forgotten is also the Olde English Bulldog, a breed of dog from the USA, which was bred with the aim of giving the sometimes heavily bred English Bulldog a healthier appearance.

Share with friends

Leave your comment